The Cragg Vale Coiners' Walk

A brand new map collaboration with 'The Gallows Pole' author Ben Myers

Get Your Copy Now



Inspired by the real-life story of the Cragg Vale Coiners this route takes in several key locations that feature in the acclaimed novel The Gallows Pole, which charts the rise and fall of ‘King’ David Hartley and an 18th century criminal enterprise that rocked the national economy.

It begins in the heart of Mytholmroyd and rises up through the beautiful woodlands of Bell Hole (now Broadhead Clough) before approaching Bell House, Hartley’s remote home on the edge of Erringden Moor. Extracts from the novel can be read in the locations where real-life events took place in the 1760s, while additional notes and sketches offer a deeper understanding of life in this unique corner of Yorkshire.

A unique collaboration between novelist Ben Myers and cartographer Christopher Goddard, the diverse route takes in ancient woods, moorlands, stunning views and haunts of the murderous Cragg Vale Coiners, and can be enjoyed by readers and walkers alike.

Buy the MAP Buy the POSTER

‘The Calder Woodland Way’

To draw further attention to the wooded nature of this valley, the author has also devised a new long distance path up its course, The Calder Woodland Way. Inspired by a train journey along the Caldervale Line, this 23½ mile route traces a lush green line between Brighouse and Walsden and takes in many of the area’s finest woods. It forms a natural companion to the book and is available in the form of a separate foldout map.

Get the Map

Christopher Goddard was born in Sheffield and now lives in Hebden Bridge with his partner Caroline and dog Alfie. An obsessive cartographer, he has been drawing maps for as long as he has been able to hold a pencil. His work as a Rights of Way and National Trail surveyor has taken him to many of the most beautiful parts of the British Isles, including the Lake District, the Scottish Highlands and the Cambrian Mountains. He began writing walking books in 2006, and to date has published three books; The West Yorkshire Moors (2013); The Wales Coast Path (2014); and The West Yorkshire Woods: Part 1 (2016). Read more.